top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnnika Lakatos

First Semester Recap at The University of Tennessee

Welcome back to another mile! I have officially completed my first semester at The University of Tennessee as an architecture student and am home for winter break! I am writing this as we enter the new year and am wishing you a wonderful year!


To start, if you have come across this blog post when University of Tennessee, Knoxville is amongst your universities of interest, I can only say wonderful things about UTK. Although everyone's experiences and preferences differ, the opportunities and exposure I have gained from attending have been very positive.


Now for a summarized recap of some of my memorable moments!



 


For some background, I committed to UT because of the location, vibrant school spirit, student body, and general life opportunities, and because I got accepted into their architecture program. I first arrived in the middle of August to move in early for sorority recruitment. After settling into my new space nicely, I began the recruitment process which lasted about a week. I enjoyed all of the positive interactions I had but ultimately, it was not a fit for me - I wanted to put my energy elsewhere.


Jumping right into the world of architecture and design in my first class, I was overjoyed. While focusing on my studies and extracurriculars first, I started exploring the beautiful city of Knoxville and surrounding locations like Nashville, Gatlinburg, Townsend, Pigeon Forge, and Sevierville in my limited free time. I quickly fell in love with the state of Tennessee, to say the least. I tried new restaurants, hiking trails, shopping locations, and more, to get myself familiar with my new home. Along the way, I welcomed genuine friendships and connections.


Throughout my semester, I took advantage of the many fun things UT had to offer, like a state-of-the-art gym, swimming pool, sporting equipment, workout classes, guest speakers, event nights, and of course the football and sports games. I feel so thankful for all the resources and things to do right here on campus and surrounding areas!


Although living in a dorm and relying on dining hall food for meals was an adjustment, it was more positive than I imagined. My dorm is very comfortable, and cozy and the dining hall is admirable with its variety of food options that change every day. I have the most incredible roommate and best friend - making my dorm experience all that more positive.


Attending the football games was nothing short of amazing. If you have not experienced a Tennessee Vols Football game, this is your sign to get a ticket. The atmosphere is euphoric and no matter whether we win or lose, you leave feeling connected to a community that is passionate and excited. My favorite part is, obviously, singing Rocky Top any chance I can get. Towards the end of the semester, I attended basketball games as well.


In the beginning of October, the college of architecture hosted a field trip to Nashville where we visited architecture and design firms. This was such an eye-opening and exciting opportunity so early in my experience! On Halloween, I road-tripped to my friend's campus, at the University of Kentucky, to stay with her and attend the Tennessee vs. Kentucky game. It was the best time - I am so grateful to have her and her family in a nearby state. Around this time, I also started volunteering at the local animal shelter which is a very rewarding experience. Later on, at the beginning of November, my best friend flew out to TN from Cape Cod. We explored Knoxville and she experienced being a student at the university. We ate delicious food, shopped, hiked, horseback rode in the Smokey Mountains, and more!


Mid-November, I attended the Georgia vs TN game at Neyland Stadium - a memorable experience. If you know anything about college football, you know this was huge - my friends and I even got to meet Megan Moroney, singer of Tennessee Orange, before the game. Throughout December, I wrapped up my studio projects and prepared for my final presentation/design review and studied for exams while trying to incorporate Christmas-themed experiences into my schedule. One of my favorite memories from this month was driving to Gatlinburg for my roommate's birthday - it is such a special place to visit!


Now I am home until the end of January and am focusing on spending time with my family and friends. I am leaning into restful and rejuvenating practices before I have to jump back into my studies. One of which is getting active on my blog page again now that I have time in my schedule!


That is all for today! I am so excited for the second semester to come, and I look forward to writing more about my positive experience at UT! Go Vols!







31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page