top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnnika Lakatos

Food Reviews: Drift Cafe, Newport, RI



Welcome back to another mile! Happy New Year! I am so excited to share a cafe with specialty coffee, wholesome quality foods, and a welcoming atmosphere in Newport, Rhode Island. My friend and I took a mini day trip to Newport where we shopped around for a bit and came across a cozy cafe with an abundance of nourishing menu items. Let's break down what my friend and I got - we ate there for breakfast and liked it so much we went back for lunch!

 

Price: $$

Google Review: 4.8/5 Stars

Website: Click Here




Drift Signature bowl: Acai, banana, almond milk-based, topped with blueberries, bananas, chia seeds, cacao nibs, shaved coconut, and raw honey (I also added some house granola). $12


I rate this acai bowl 10/10. This was satisfying with bursting flavors. I enjoyed the smooth and thick consistency of the base. The toppings were delightful - I especially enjoyed the flavors of cacao nibs and coconut shavings as they were positively paired together. The house granola added a nice crunch while tasting fresh with the perfect amount of sweetness. The bananas and blueberries were very fresh, and the chia seeds and honey were nourishing additives. This was a solid smoothie bowl that left me full for hours and comforted my soul.



The Good Stuff: Roasted sweet potato, roasted red pepper, avocado, almond, goat cheese, quinoa, spinach, citrus Greek yogurt aioli (I did exclude this). $12


I rate this bowl a 9/10. The ingredients were fresh and complimented each other. I enjoyed the mixture of vegetables, sliced almonds, goat cheese, and quinoa. The variety of textures was very satisfying. Some veggies were a bit soft, and it could have used a bit of spices/seasonings (I did opt out of the aioli) but overall, this bowl was comforting and nourishing - I enjoyed it!



Good morning wrap: 2 free-range eggs, cheddar, bacon, tomato, spinach, chipotle aioli. $8.50


My friend rated this wrap an overall 8/10. She described it as savory and satisfying. The ingredients were fresh and complementary. The texture was soft, and it was overall flavorful. She mentioned it may have been better warmed.



Sunset bowl: Acai, banana, almond milk-base, topped with strawberries, banana, house granola, shaved coconut, maple almond butter. $12


My friend rated this smoothie bowl a 10/10. The ingredients were fresh and satisfying together and the bowl was perfectly sweet. The base was smooth - complimented by the crunchy toppings. The homemade granola and coconut stood out to her. With the maple almond butter, it was the perfect nourishing bowl.



We also purchased a bag of their house granola made of rolled oats, olive oil, maple syrup, honey, cinnamon, and vanilla extract. This granola was to die for and made of only whole-food ingredients. This product is a must-buy if you visit ($10)!



 


We would highly recommend this place overall for its delicious food options and inviting environment! I enjoyed how many menu items they had to offer! It was a wonderful experience for both breakfast and lunch and I can't wait to visit again!




10 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page