top of page

Bleach-Dye Trendy Lounge Set Tutorial! (inexpensive)

Hey everyone! Welcome to another mile over here on The Lifestyle Mile Blog page! As the Halloween season comes to a close, I wanted to share a non-october themed blog post to break up the content for a bit as we move into November and December! Recently, I have seen a lot of trendy lounge tie dye and bleach sets throughout social media! Instead of purchasing those over-priced sets, I decided to take it upon myself to purchase inexpensive "Fruit of the Loom" brand unisex sweat pants and crewnecks, and bleach them! My mom and I each bleached a set and we were very pleased with the outcome so I felt the urge to share the process and a tutorial on how to make your own. Let's get right into it! Ps. If you try this out, be sure to take a picture and tag me on Instagram!! I would love to repost your creation!! 


Materials you will need:

- "Fruit of the Loom" brand or any unisex basic sweatpants (any color of your choice)

- "Fruit of the Loom" brand or any unisex basic crewneck (any color of your choice)

- Bleach safe bucket or cup for pouring

- Water

- Bleach

- Rubber Bands

- Rubber gloves

- Face mask

- Bathtub or bucket


Step one: Begin by taking your two piece set and rubber banning to your desire. This step is similar to when you are tie dying. There are many ways you can rubber band and section off your clothing pieces. I decided to just go ahead and scrunch up my pieces and rubber band them together. Below I will put an example of what I did, along with other designs you can do.


Some techniques:


The technique I used:




Step two: Go ahead prepare your workspace. Start by putting on your rubber gloves and face mask. The rubber gloves are for the protection of your hands and the mask is to protect you from the oder from the bleach.


Step three: Prepare your bleach and water mixture. I recommend using a type of bucket with a pouring tip that you feel comfortable putting bleach in. To complete your mixture, simply pour in equal parts of each liquid (water and bleach) into the bucket. Water is used to dilute your bleach.


Step four: I recommend you use a bathtub for this step but if you have a big enough bucket, go ahead and use that. Place you clothing pieces onto your workspace and start soaking the pieces with your mixture. Make sure you soak all of it, that is key. You may refill your bucket with bleach and water as much as needed.


Step five: Let it sit for at least 10 minutes.


Step six: With rubber gloves on, undo rubber bands and lay out clothing for another 10 minutes. Do not squeeze/drain bleach out. If you see a spot that you would like to add bleach on, go right ahead. There is no right or wrong.


Step seven: Once your bleach set has sat out for a total of at least 20 minutes, place in washing machine. Make sure these are the only clothes in the washing machine or else you will bleach other clothes. Run washing cycle with cold water on a normal setting. After washing cycle is complete, transfer you're set into the dryer on cold temperature and dry on normal setting.


Step eight: Enjoy your new trendy bleach lounge set!!!


That will be all for this trendy bleach lounge set tutorial!! I hope you enjoyed it! If you liked this blog post, be sure to leave a like down below so I know you enjoyed it! If you try this out, be sure to leave a comment and email me a picture because I would love to see your creation! Or you can tag me in your picture showing your creation over on Instagram and I will repost! Have an awesome rest of your day and don’t forget to be kind and stay positive! 

Ps. If you are reading this, head over to my Instagram (@thelifestylemile) and leave any heart emoji on my most recent post! 




20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page