top of page

How I Make Money Blogging (& How I Started A Blog)



Hey everyone! Welcome back to another mile here on The Lifestyle Mile Blog page! Today I will be sharing something a bit different than my usual content! I want to share some insight on why and how I started The Lifestyle Mile Blog as well as how I produce content and make money! Let's get to the details - stick around and get inspired! *This is not an AD*


 


What inspired me to start a blog?

I created my blog in May 2020 after brainstorming several hobbies that would fulfill my time at the beginning of the Covid-19 pandemic. At the time, I was looking for a platform where I could display topics that I am passionate about. My passions are health and wellness propelling me into the lifestyle niche. On my blog, you can explore numerous recipes, reviews, lifestyle advice, and more. This is anywhere from delicious plant-based desserts, mood-boosting activities, bucket lists, fitness routines, hydration tips, and everything in between. My intentions are to inspire others about healthy living. Within this lifestyle niche, I have the opportunity to create content within a broad spectrum, maintaining a passion for writing.


How do I make money?

After over a year of writing on my blog with no general income, I decided to look into ways that could offer a paywall behind my posts. That is where I found Medium.com. Medium is an online publishing platform where anyone can publish their work and gain revenue. I simply upload the content directly from my blog and publish it on Medium through publications or by myself. On Medium you are guaranteed to be published if you upload through your own account but only a select amount of work can be accepted and posted through publications. I get paid based on views and subscription referrals. In order to get paid, you do need to be part of their partner program with a minimum of 100 followers.


What are some pieces of equipment I use?

I use my MacBook Air to type and edit all of my content. I use a Canon M50 camera with a 55-250 millimeter lens, a lightbox, and a tripod to capture all of my blog images. To upload blog posts onto my website, I use Wix.com. You won’t need all of this equipment to get started but over time I wanted to invest in my blog for the growth and developmental aspect of my content.


How do I prepare content?

Consistency is key when it comes to succeeding in almost everything we do. So I strive to post at least once a week. Although I do set time aside to formally publish my work, I still have to create the content in my free time. I aim to prepare blog posts ahead of time whether that’s a few days before posting or weeks, it all depends. Some days I sit down and can’t think of anything to create while on other days ideas flood my mind. The more I am inspired by my surroundings, the more I can inspire others.


Some posts require more TLC than others. To prepare a more involved post, such as a product recommendation and review, I need to include numerous links, planned images and thumbnails, and specific formatting. Not only do readers want a fluid reading experience, but they also want all resources at their fingertips. Taking the time to gather as much information is crucial on the author's end.


Overall

In the beginning, I did not know exactly how to get started but I knew I just needed to start. So, my very first step was choosing Wix.com to create a blogging website. Through general exposure, I slowly gained more knowledge and insight on how to maintain a blog.


My biggest piece of advice is to just start and be consistent. Begin with something you are passionate about and let it grow from there.


 

That is all for today! I really hope you enjoyed this type of content! If you enjoyed it, I encourage you to stick around for more! To subscribe to my newsletter, simply head to the bottom of each page and fill out a form! Have a wonderful rest of your day!



anni



25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page