top of page

OCTOBER SCARE-FEST!! (stories by you)

Hey everyone! Welcome back to another mile over here on The Lifestyle Mile blog page! HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!!! As we come to the closure of October, I wanted to end this month with an OCTOBER SCARE - FEST!! First, I wanted to say happy halloween and I hope you are enjoying and cherishing every moment of today! I also wanted to say a quick thank you to those who submitted stories!! Without further ado, let's hop right into it! Keep reading if you want to be spooked....


 

This first story is brought to you by anonymous and it is called "Paranoia." Enjoy...



The story you are about to read is fictional, and is not for the faint of heart.


Early one October, myself and four of my friends marked out a camping excursion in the North Woods. In the timberlands, there's no certainty that you will run into anything bad, or good, so Tom, Kenny, and myself, along with Clara and Jackie, all left prepared in the event of anything. A spur to go hunting, play some games, or dare to take a dip in a frigid river. We left our apartment complex around 7:00 one evening, so that we could make it to the camping grounds in time to sleep and have a full day of doing whatever struck us as exciting. I really shouldn't call it a camping ground, as nobody but me knows where it is. It's not private property, it's not public property, it's just a couple of acres of land I know of that’s far off a highway. My father found the spot while on a buck hunting trip in college with some of his friends, and my family has gone up there every year since. The last year we went up there, however, will for good reason, will have been our last.

We got off the interstate and left the car at the garage that my family had bought, exclusively for the purpose of camping. We lugged our stuff about a mile into the woods and set up camp. The first day was mostly just preparation. Gathering wood, cutting up brush for space, whatever was needed to make a convenient area. Tom and I told Kenny and the girls that we'd be back in an hour with plenty of kindling. We grabbed our hatchets, and walked deeper into the woods. We were about half an hour into our expedition when I spotted three men walking down a previously unseen pathway. When I saw them, it seemed like, just as I turned my head to look at them, they were already looking... at us. Tom stopped cutting and raised his hand as if to say, “Hey” and began to wave. What struck me as odd, was that they didn't move. Didn't wave back. Didn't say anything. They just stood there staring at us like we had lobsters crawling out of our ears. Eventually I just shrugged them off and continued peeling up bark. The next time I turned my head, they were gone.

These men weren’t your average hikers or campers, they were very filthy looking, like they'd been living out in the woods for an extended period of time. However, as strange as that was, I tried to take it with a grain of salt, and to not let it interfere with our trip. We eventually made it back to camp with plenty of kindling. I then felt safer in the company of everyone, and having left Kenny with the girls. We ended up building a fire after pitching our tents, and spent most of the evening cooking, eating, chatting, and telling stories. The normal things one does when camping. Tom actually brought his guitar with him. He kinda outdid me, as I brought my harmonica. 


We played for what felt like an eternity. Tom softly strumming the strings of his guitar, and me, calmly puffing into my harmonica, as Kenny and the girls sat back and listened attentively, all by the tender crackle of the fire. Eventually, we found ourselves growing more and more sleepy as we sang deeper into the night. We decided not to tell the girls about what happened, thinking it might put them a little on edge. As far as we were concerned, life was alright.


We just let them know, that if they heard anything unusual, or if they felt spooked, to come and get us. Immediately. 


The strange thing was, when I told myself that I would take what happened in the woods with a grain of salt, I really wasn't able to. Ever since that little interaction Tom and I had, I honestly felt like we were being watched. By the time night fell, sleep eventually did find me. I found myself awake at the sharp sound of a zipper and the crunching of leaves. I got out of my sleeping bag, unzipped my tent, and stuck my head out of the doorway into the cold night air to see if anything unusual was afoot. I felt oddly, exposed, and unprotected, despite the fact that I had a high-caliber rifle by my side. I noticed that the door to Jackie and Clara’s tent was open, and I figured, you know, one of them had to go out on nature’s call. I wouldn’t have been all that surprised if both of them were gone. You’d want a bathroom buddy, too, if you were in the middle of the woods at night. Just to be sure, I told myself to man up and go check the tent, to see if they were both okay. 

But what I saw in that tent made my blood run cold. I nearly pooped myself at the sight of two of the same men from earlier, looking like they were in the middle of a… procedure... as I saw that there were tools and knives scattered around the tent. I screamed for Tom and Ken to grab their rifles as I ran back to my tent to get mine, but before we knew what was happening, the two men had dashed into the thick brush. I shined my flashlight in the direction they took off in, as shots rang out from Tom and Ken’s aimless fire. What I heard in that moment, was far more bone-chilling than anything I could have ever dreamed of in my worst nightmare. Sounds of leaves crunching and branches snapping came from all around us. We knew, in that moment, that there were not just two men. Men who had previously been watching us from bushes and behind trees, darted off into the night. They, I don’t know who, or why they were here, or why there were so many of them, had completely surrounded us. If we hadn’t brought our rifles, I don't think I would be telling this story today. 

After realizing what had just happened, we made our way back into the girls’ tent. Both Clara and Jackie seemed to be in some sort of deep sleep. They both still had a pulse, which was a good sign, but it seemed that they were injected with some kind of tranquilizer or something. We knew right then and there, that if we didn’t take off, there was a good chance that the army of men would return. There was no question whether or not the girls were coming with us. I picked up Clara and Ken grabbed Jackie. We slung our rifles over our shoulders, grabbed one bag each, and hurried our asses out of those woods with girls in hand, and Tom clearing the way. They woke up not long after, and for the remainder of time that we were running, Jackie and Clara wouldn't stop asking what the hell had happened. Tom, Ken, and myself knew that it would have been a dire mistake to tell them while we were still in danger. 

Thankfully, we made it to the car in one piece. We threw all of our crap in the trunk, I stuck the keys in the ignition, and began to drive back in the direction that led us here the day before. It wasn't 5 minutes into the car ride that we felt it was time to tell the girls what had happened. When we did, they were mortified. I'd never seen such a disturbed look on any two people's faces. Most of the ride home was in silence, with all of Tom, Jackie, Clara and Ken having fallen in each other's arms. As an alternative to staying in town, I chose to drive all the way home and reported the accident to our local police the next morning. They told us that they would dispatch a search party into the woods, looking for a band of, I guess you could say, yokels. I told them that there was no way that they were your average people. For all I was concerned, their intentions had been so sickening, that I'd really rather not know who they were if they were found. Which they weren’t. All I know, is that I haven't been back in those woods since. The End.


 

Our next story is brought to you by anonymous and it is called "Muddy Beach Foot Prints" Enjoy...


One steamy hot day late in August, the neighborhood was quiet. The heat was unbearable and all you could do was try to stay cool. After sisters Jillian and Autumn came home from the local Cape Cod beach with their 5 children, everyone showered off the remnants of sand and shells and went to the cool basement to hang out. Jillian was visiting from the west coast with her kids, Cael and Lance and only had 2 days left before leaving. Autumn’s kids, Bench, Morgan and Cal were dreading them leaving!  While Autumn and Jillian made dinner, they could hear the laughter and at times bickering coming from the basement and couldn’t wait until after dinner to put the kids to bed and finally relax for the day. After the homemade pizza was gobbled up, the kids ran off to their rooms to get ready for bed. Within minutes of their heads hitting the pillow, all eyes were closed. Grateful for the peace and quiet, Autumn and Jillian put on their favorite reality TV show and ate their dinner. With the windows open, the humidity was gone as the cooler August air filtered in. As Autumn and Jillian casually chatted, they suddenly heard the sound of a man cough loudly coming from the kitchen.  It was congested and junkie, and they both abruptly looked at each other. They had both heard it! Autumn knew that her husband, Joel, was not home and started to get nervous. They were frozen. Autumn asked Jillian to get up to check out the noise coming from the kitchen but Jillian gave her a look like she was crazy. They held hands tightly and pushed each other forward until they were able to peek into the kitchen. Nobody! They ran to the door but the door was locked. They quickly shut out all the lights in the kitchen so they could see out the windows into the dark eery night. The room suddenly felt very cold and both Autumn and Jillian felt a chill come over them. After turning the lights on, they stayed close to one another as they checked out every room and closet in the house, baseball bat in hand. The coast was clear. Trying to wrap up the night on a positive note, they returned to their TV show, which was the most dramatic show ever. They went to bed and didn’t give it another thought.

The next day Autumn and Joel headed off to the Red Sox game at Fenway park leaving Jillian to watch the kids. In the 5th inning, Autumn saw that she had 5 missed calls from Jillian. Her stomach sank as she was worried something bad happened at home. She quickly called home to hear a nervous, whispering Jillian on the other end. Jillian had told her that as she was reading to the kids she heard footsteps coming up not only the basement stairs but the stairs leading upstairs as well. When she called out to say, “Hello?”, nobody was there. She had slowly gone down to the first landing making her 5 year old go with her. Nobody was there. When she returned to the kids, as soon as she began reading again, more footsteps! Autumn tried to reason that it must have been the kids grandpa and she would call him right now. Jillian was panicked but trying to keep cool for the kids. After Autumn confirmed that the kids grandpa had not made a visit that night, Autumn convinced Jillian that she was imagining it and to stay in the room with the kids until she got home and watch clips from SNL to take her mind off of it. Autumn and Joel decided to leave the game at that point. They got home around 1 am. Everything about the house looked normal inside and out. When they got inside, they could sense everyone was asleep. As they approached the stairs leading up to the children’s bedrooms, they shivered as they saw a large muddy footprint on the second stair. They sprinted up, jumping 3 steps at a time. They could see Jillian curled up on a beanbag chair in the boys room fast asleep. One, two, three, four.  All boys were there. They started to relax. As they glanced into Morgan’s room, the blood drained from their heads. Morgan was gone! Beds sheets strewn across the room. Four muddy footprints lead out of her room toward the landing at the top of the stairs and next to one, was a small pink hair ribbon. Then, the footprints were gone….!  Based on real events. The End.


 

Next up one of our kind viewers sent a message in for your guys! Enjoy...


Hi readers of The Lifestyle Mile! I’m a person who purposefully avoids haunted houses, horror movies, or practically anything scary- especially during October! I’m way too much of a scaredy-cat to handle any of that. Although, I am a huge fan of Harry Potter, and love reading the books and watching the movies during this time of year. My advice for a thrilling night is to wait until it’s dark, make sure all the lights are off in the house, and turn up your volume on your favorite Harry Potter movie! Reading those stories just thrilled me as a child, and I love to do it over and over again. I know this isn’t exactly a scary story, but I simply don’t have any of my own- because other than Harry Potter, I keep things as less scary as possible;) Happy October everybody!


 

That is all for our very first OCTOBER SCARE-FEST!! I hope you all enjoyed! I wanted to say a huge thank you to whoever sent in a story or message! It was much appreciated! You were the ones who made this happen! If you enjoyed, be sure to leave a like down below so I know you liked it! If you made it this far, head over to my instagram (@thelifestylemile) and leave a ghost and pumpkin emoji on my most recent post! Have a wonderful halloween or rest of your day! Stay safe and wear your masks! Don't forget to be kind and stay positive! See you next week!



25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page