top of page

Tie Dye T-Shirts!



Welcome to the second blog post on The Lifestyle Mile blog page! I am so thankful for the support that I got on my very first blog post last Saturday! I want to sincerely thank you for tuning in and reading my last post and I hope you enjoyed it! Today I wanted to bring you a fun and easy craft idea that has recently been a trend! Tie Dye! This is a super fun craft that does not involve a lot of supplies or work. I decided to try tie dying after seeing so many people wearing homemade tie-dye shirts all over social media! I noticed them and I thought they looked super cute! If you usually have a lot of crafting supplies lying around your house, I can guarantee that you have a tie-dye kit lying around. I was surprised to find one in my craft closet! I also found some old white tee shirts that I used to tie-dye. Since I found all my supplies lying around my house, this was a very easy and cost-free project!


I decided to tie-dye four white shirts and use one color per shirt, green, purple, blue, and pink.


First I got all my shirts and I soaked them in water. I let those shirts sit in the water as I grabbed all my materials. I followed the directions on the tie-dye kit and I started by adding water to each of the powdered dye in the bottles. My kit included four bottles with tie-dye powder in each (just add water for water dye), rubber bands, hand gloves, and an instruction book. Next, I laid out paper bags outside on my lawn and prepared my workspace. 


Once I gathered my wet shirts, I brought them outside to my workspace. I decided I wanted to do a spiral design with the tie-dye so I began by pinching the middle of each shirt and twisting in until there was no more fabric. I then took the rubber bands and wrapped them around the circle-shaped shirt until there were 6 sections. 


Next, I began by collecting my tie-dye colors. I first took my pink bottle and filled in each of the 6 triangle shape sections with a solid layer of pink dye. After I generously coated the top side, I then flipped it over and repeated that process on the other side. After both of my sides had a solid coat of pink dye, I used my hands (with gloves on) to pick it up and transfer the tie-dyed shirt and placed it onto plastic wrap. I did layout plastic wrap before-hand to make this process easier and to not get dye anywhere other than the shirt. I made sure to tightly wrap the shirt and then I let that sit for about 2-3 hours. After I finished my first shirt, I repeated that whole process for the rest of the 3 shirts using the other 3 colors. 


I then let all my shirts sit for about 2-3 hours to make sure the dye had time to set. Then, I unwrapped my shirts and rinsed them under the faucet until the water was clear. I washed each shirt INDIVIDUALLY on a normal setting in the washer, and then popped them in the dryer to complete the tie-dying process. (if you wash them all together, the colors will mix and make a brown color)


Finally, I cropped my shirts because that is what I prefer. (you don’t have to of course!) 


This may sound like a lot, but trust me it's super easy and so fun. If you are looking for a different tie-dye design, you can choose whichever design you desire. This was just the one I chose and I love how they turned out! 


Thank you for tuning into this blog post and if you try this out, be sure to email me a picture because I would love to see yours!! I hope you enjoyed it!!


Amazon links for a tie dye kit and shirts I found


5 color tie dye kit:



Plain white unisex shirts: 





45 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page